House Sitting in Courtenay!

It is so lovely to be back in Courtenay, B.C! I arrived on June 21. I’m very excited to be back here! Everything is so lush and green! Every bush is just bursting with blooms and color! Summer seems to come a month earlier to Vancouver Island than Alberta.

I am house-sitting in a bungalow within walking distance of a grocery store, Dollarama, McDonald’s, and even more amenities! Buses can easily take me to any part of this city, and nearby Comox! There are so many things to explore and do!

I think I will check out the activities at the Seniors’ Center, tour the museums, and go for walks daily to admire all the flowering landscaping. I am not caring for any pets here, but I will be watering the homeowners’ plants.

After I finish my current house sit in Courtenay on August 11, my calendar will be free of confirmed house sits. If YOU or someone you know on Vancouver Island needs a FREE house sitter beyond August 11th, please reach out!

I hope to find more house sits here on Vancouver Island. If I don’t, I will return home to Alberta, and perhaps find some house sits there, but I really don’t want to spend the winter in Alberta. I very much want to return to Vancouver Island before the blizzards arrive.

I arrived in Courtenay by Island Link Bus from Victoria. I was caring for an elderly cat there. She liked to tell me many stories, be brushed, and cuddle with me on the bed each night. That sit was in a lovely garden suite. Its entrance was tucked away in a quiet backyard where one could relax in a hammock strung beneath ancient apple trees. It was within walking distance of a grocery store, Dollarama, and a Tim Hortons. The owner was nice enough to loan me her bike. There were lots of trails to explore.

I came home for a few weeks after Calgary and before my sit in Victoria. It was nice catching up on things I needed to do at home. I saw my doctor and my dentist. I had my winter tires taken off and my summer tires put on my car. I washed my car and vacuumed it out. I washed my home’s windows and even had time to paint my deck. I needed to catch up on these things.

My son and I spent a year and a half in Courtenay and Comox in 2018 and 2019. We house-sat for the first six months, then rented for about a year. So, I know this area well and am very comfortable here! Courtenay is a small city, and Comox is a small town right next to it. Both have everything you might need. I would love to live here again, but housing is so expensive in BC.

So, if you or someone you know in Courtenay or Comox, Nanaimo, or the Victoria area is going away in August or for the upcoming winter, please consider having me house-sit for you. I can also look after your pets and plants, get the mail, and much more! If you’d like to learn more, let’s have a Zoom or phone call conversation, and I’ll tell you all about it!

It’s worth noting that some insurance companies require someone to look after your home while you are gone. In some cases, you may only need a neighbour or a friend to stop by, but you’ll be much happier having a professional housesitter like myself, even though I do this for FREE!

I would absolutely love to spend the month and winter coming up in Courtenay and Comox house sitting for YOU or someone you know! Have questions? Let’s chat!